Couple General Questions - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-15-2022, 07:53 PM   #1

Name: Willy
Trailer: Bigfoot
Alberta
Couple General Questions

Hi again. First off thanks for all the replies to my previous posts, I am new to owning any sort of RV so I have had lots of basic questions and appreciate all the help!!

So I have a 1979 Bigfoot BF16SM. My first question is how is the underside of the trailer sealed or built so water doesn't get in?? Anything to look for for basic wear and tear or damage? I crawled underneath but to be honest didn't really know what I was looking for! The material seems like it may be some sort of fiberglass type material as well but I can't tell. You can see where the fibreglass shell comes down and around but seems like a separate material/piece on the chassis.

Second, can I get on the roof of my trailer? Like would it support the weight of an average person? Or should I put something to distribute the weight like a sheet of plywood or something? Or should I avoid it all together!!? For example if I want to reseal the vents and inspect the roof etc.

Thanks in advance!
WillyBigfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2022, 09:53 PM   #2

Name: John
Trailer: Escape 21, behind an '02 F250 7.3 diesel tug
Mid Left Coast
I don't know the bigfoot specifically, but in general FG trailers are not designed to support the weight of an adult on the roof. I lean a 8' ladder against the trailer (with foam padding such as pool noodles to keep it from scratching, and lean over the trailer to do said sealing and other roof repair kind of jobs.
John in Santa Cruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2022, 10:16 PM   #3

Name: Jack L
Trailer: Sold the Bigfoot 17-Looking for a new one
Washington