Guidance for repairing this fiberglass damage - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-31-2021, 08:08 AM   #1

Name: Joshua
Trailer: Scamp
NY
Guidance for repairing this fiberglass damage

I am looking for some guidance/recommendations for repairing this damage on the new to me '87 Scamp, from the previous owner. I have no experience in fiberglass repairs so I would love to have some suggestions and reference materials that have worked for all of you in the past. Thank you very much for your tips in advance.

The larger damage is probably about 3x2 inches in size. The top portion is still attached, I'm guessing they pulled into a stump or something like that. The second damage is minor but I would like to repair it as well before I replace that bottom black strip. Speaking of that black strip. What is its purpose? I see that Scamp sells replacement of that strip. is it a difficult thing to replace?

Edit: If someone could tell me how to flip the pictures I posted so they arent upside down that would be great as well. Im really good at these things, I promise.
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_2976.jpg   IMG_2977.jpg  

JEVanHorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2021, 11:35 AM   #2

Name: Steven
Trailer: '79 Boler
on Ontario
Registry
Right side up pictures

Easiest way to upload right-side-up pictures is to ensure they are stored right-side-up on your computer.

Find them in your computer's folder and double click the picture. When it comes up in the default viewer you'll be able to rotate them and then save them right-side-up to that same location (overwrite).
Then when you up load them to this venue they'll be correct.
steve67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2021, 03:07 PM   #3

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry