Guys very inportant to check this!!!!! - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-03-2017, 07:23 PM   #1

Trailer: One 13 ft Scamp and One 13 ft Trillium and Two Trillium 4500
Guys very inportant to check this!!!!!

Guys,
As many on here know I've been renovating these for several years now and I've renovated over 8 Trillium's, 4 Scamp's, 4 Burro's and 4 U-Hauls and for the most part everyone of them has had a few issues.. but the one I'm doing now was a accident waiting to happen.. I don't always do a frame off renovation, probably done 6 or 7 but decided to do it on the one I'm doing now.. I bought this one in Kansas and brought it home probably 2 1/2 years ago, and man was it a long trip over 900 miles.
Well when I got under it to start removing the bolts that hold's it on the frame I discovered all the bolts and brackets had rusted completely into, I mean there was NOTHING holding it on except for one bolt in the back right hand corner and the electrical cable and gas line in the front.. It's a wonder it didn't come off the frame when I drug it home, I was pulling it 70 to 75 mph down the interstate.. I've never seen that before, now I've had them where one or two was nearly gone but this was scary and by the looks of it, it had been this way for a very long time because the front two bolts were rusted to a sharp point and the nut a washers were long gone..
So if you have a old camper please check your bolts and for gods sake use stainless steel bolts and washers like I do....
Randy Bishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2017, 07:34 PM   #2

Trailer: 2004 13 ft Scamp Custom Deluxe
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Bishop View Post
Guys,