Is POR-15 paint worth it if I'm not removing the body? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-08-2022, 03:42 PM   #1

Name: Dub
Trailer: WTB
CA
Is POR-15 paint worth it if I'm not removing the body?

My 2006 Casita needs some TLC on the frame. There is minor rust and it could use a fresh coat of paint. I've never done this before so I've been searching here and the web for the process and tools of choice. And no surprise, there are million ways to do this..

I've got some questions I'm hoping someone may help answer:

1. Is it necessary to remove the body from the frame in order to paint the frame? Every youtube video and picture I've come across in the past hour shows an empty frame being painted. I was thinking I could paint the frame while it's still attached to the body (and just tape off the body), but that appears to be an inferior approach.

2. To my title question (I guess I've already gone off topic haha), if I want to get the epic sounding POR-15, considering how it's A permanent solution, is it only worth investing in POR if you take the body off and paint the top of the frame as well?

3. And if i'm going with a non-POR product (I've seen some rustoleum products also recommended, particularly a rust protection product).....can I simply sand down rust spots with sandpaper, down to the point where the rust is not visible any more? And then degrease, and paint? Again, I'm a newbie and trying to figure out the simplest process as I don't have much in the way of fancy tools. Google and Youtube have only muddied the waters for me.

Thanks.
montereyfgrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2022, 03:48 PM   #2

Trailer: Escape 17 ft
Read the instructions for POR-15 and then decide if it is really worth the effort.
Old 02-08-2022, 04:53 PM   #3

Name: Bill
Trailer: Lil Snoozy / Jeep Cherokee
Pennsylvania
Registry
Quote: