Remodel vs Original - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-31-2009, 08:48 AM   #1

Trailer: Burro 13 ft 1978
Send a message via Yahoo to Donna Adams
To all,

I'm a newbie w/ a sm Burro that needs some sprucing up. Some things in it match my needs, but others not. Is customizing the best way to go or is it better to keep it as original as possible? Keeping in mind weight & balance I have no need of front bunks, but would enjoy some shelves & more kit counter & storage space. It's pretty minimal--no potty or shower. Again is retrofitting a good plan or way too expensive & too much trouble?

Where would I get replacement windows & how difficult are they to install?

Also, anyone experienced w/ replacing the ceiling strip of carpet? I'd be glad for input on that task.

Thanks! This site is awesome; I've learned so much & love the stories & humor!!
Donna Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 09:29 AM   #2

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
I'm a believer that it's your trailer and you should do what you want. We've seen prices go fairly high for "original" and even higher still for fabulously modified. Since it runs the gambit, you have to decide what is it that you want to do and what suits your needs.

What's the most important, is if you make modifications you use quality parts and do a professional job. Shoddy work, whether it's through modifications or general maintenance devalues a trailer (or car, truck, house).

Other than a 3-way refrigerator or large case awning, windows are the most expensive thing to replace. What's wrong with yours? There are experienced trailer owners on this forum that can give you good information on repairs.

Burro owners will jump in and give you some more tips (and tricks).

BTW: to FiberglassRV!
Donna D. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 09:58 AM   #3

Trailer: 2004 13 ft Scamp Custom Deluxe