sharp tools & sheds - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-29-2013, 12:04 PM   #1

Name: David
Trailer: Own a 2013 BF 21 foot.
California
sharp tools & sheds

Hello,
Not being the sharpest tool in the shed I need to ask what's the difference between a gel coat and a clear coat also would a 2013 Bigfoot have both? I'm thinking the gel goes on top of the fiberglass and clear on top of the gel. Am I correct and if so would a wax safe for clear coats be ok for this 2013 Bigfoot I have? Thanks for the info as I'm new to fiberglass.

David
Socal
lifermc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 12:54 PM   #2

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
I'd like to know too. I wonder if there is a Manuf. that does spray a final automotive type clear coat on the shell to make it shiny. Good question. Another dull tool in the shed here ha ha.

Wiki gelcoat link if anyone is interested http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gelcoat
Ken C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 01:19 PM   #3

Name: Steve
Trailer: Scamp 19
Arizona
From my experience with boat building clear coat are used over paint jobs. When a boat is laid up, the mold is waxed and then the gel-coat is sprayed into the mold. Next the glass lay-up is done. When all the lay-ups are done the excess is trimmed. After the part is cured then it is taken out of the mold and with a bit of polish will shine. I know that paint job on my truck has clear coat over the paint, but haven't seen clear coat used over gel-coat. Maybe there are some trailer manufactures that are spraying clear coat over the gel-coat, but it isn't normal in the marine world
captsteve2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 01:23 PM   #4

Name: Ron
Trailer: 2008 13' Scamp
British Columbia