To Cover or Not - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-08-2010, 10:26 AM   #1

Name: Kathie
Trailer: U-HAUL VT16
upstate ny
To Cover or Not

Just got my U-HAUL VT-16 delivered and I am wondering if I am abusing it!I did a search for my answer but there are so many variables I couldn't decide!
I live in a large open field on top of a hill. The wind howels, and the snow blows. This makes me wonder if a cover is smart? No snow will stay on top, no limbs to hit it, would definately rub in the wind, but still it looks so out there by itself.
Any suggestoins? I am new to all this.<_<
kbeale NY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 02:04 PM   #2

Trailer: 16 ft Casita Spirit Deluxe
I dont like to leave fiberglass out in the elements. All year for that matter and i keep mine covered all year when not in use. It would get oxidized and dull quickly where mine is always shiny and no ultraviolet sun to beat it up.
Joe
Joe Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 02:39 PM   #3

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
I too live in a very windy area. If you choose to cover your trailer, be very aware that whatever you use can actually scrub the gel coat if it touches. For that reason, my trailer is under a metal carport with 3' earth anchors holding it down because of the wind.
Donna D. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 03:49 PM   #4

Trailer: U-Haul CT13
Registry
Has anyone ever looked into the shrink wrap they put on boats for the winter? I was thinking about that the other day when i seen some boats all wrapped up for winter here and thought it would probably be good for a camper too.......anyone?
Bruce Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 05:33 PM   #5

Name: Cyndi
Trailer: 2010 Scamp 5th Wheel/2019 Toyota Tundra
Iowa
Registry