Trailer Brakes on a flat four plug - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-15-2006, 03:35 PM   #1

Trailer: 1990 Bigfoot 5th Wheel
Is it possible to run trailer brakes with only a flat four plug? I have no experience with trailer brakes. Could someone in the know give a brief trailer plug tutorial? Thanks
Cam A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 04:02 PM   #2

Trailer: 1991 16 ft Casita Freedom Deluxe
The quick answer is no, you can't. All 4 leads are used for the minimum number of lighting functions, plus a ground. You have running lights, right stop and turn, left stop and turn, and the ground and that adds up to four.
Trailer brakes could very well require larger gauge wires then what would be incuded with the standard flat-4 arrangement.
I suppose that you could have 2 plugs, the flat-4 and another type for just the trailer brakes, but the best way to do it would be to go with the higher-capacity plugs that are standard on RVs. I think mine uses a round 7-position connector.
Lee Hillsgrove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 04:16 PM   #3

Trailer: Casita 17 ft Spirit Deluxe
Sorry to differ with you.

There is an electronic box that can be added to your vehicle wiring that combines the left trun, right turn, and stop to operate over three wires. Fourth is vehicle ground.

These are available anywhere TV hitches are installed.

Then there is an adapter that can be used to convert four wire connector + electric brakes wire to seven wire connector.

I ran my Casita 17' SD with a Cadillac Deville DHS tow vehicle for two yearts connected this way.
CD Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 04:55 PM   #4

Trailer: Scamp
Registry
Quote:
Sorry to differ with you.