UHaul Converter - Peering Inside - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-21-2012, 01:37 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
UHaul Converter - Peering Inside

Let me preface this discussion by stating that I'm a mechanical engineer and any errors made are from ignorance, as opposed to malice.

I've wondered if I should replace my old converter on my CT UHaul. I rarely camp with electricity, so I am curious to see how much of a battery boiler this converter is. Today I decided to take it apart and see what is inside.

It appears that it has a split output when plugged in. One circuit isolates the battery and charges it and one circuit powers all the trailer accessories off the transformer's DC output, independent of the battery.

With no battery connected, the charging circuit output is 12.44 volts and the accessories circuit is at 13.47 volts.

With a small jumper pack battery connected at 12.8 v, the charging circuit jumps up to 14.24 volts and the accessory circuit remains fairly steady at 13.41 volts.

Given that a fully charged battery is about 12.7 volts, I would think that the charger circuit output should be closer to a float voltage, like 13.4 volts. There is a small electronic circuit board that appears to regulate charging voltage (circa 1985).

Any thoughts or insight from those of you with more experience?
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_3849.JPG   IMG_3848.JPG  

IMG_3852.JPG   IMG_3854.JPG  

Old 09-21-2012, 02:39 PM   #2

Trailer: 2002 19 ft Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel
Send a message via Yahoo to Darwin Maring
I would just go to some place like WallyWorld and purchase one of those batteries that has a 3 year free replacement warranty the not worry about boiling it.
Darwin Maring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 03:13 PM   #3

Name: Jack
Trailer: '98 BURRO 17WB
Delaware