VHB for a Solar Panel - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-12-2017, 07:24 AM   #1

Name: Chris
Trailer: Trillium 1300
Nova Scotia
VHB for a Solar Panel

I've searched for info on VHB tape but it seems people have used a variety. 4950, 4991, and 5952.

What is everyone's experience? On the 3M site, comparing the three, it looks like 5952 is the one to go with. It mentions "Commercial Vehicle Roof Vent Attachment" in the specs and is listed as "very conformable."

I don't see any mention, on any of the tapes, of being specific for bonds between fiberglass and metal. Can anyone shed some more light on this for me?
ChrisDunbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2017, 09:49 AM   #2

Name: Martin
Trailer: 1993 CASITA 16SD
Texas
I've been using it on my two 100 watt panels for two years without a problem.
CASITA BANANA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2017, 10:00 AM   #3

Nova Scotia
Quote:
Originally Posted by CASITA BANANA View Post
I've been using it on my two 100 watt panels for two years without a problem.
What number did you use?
Old 02-12-2017, 10:07 AM   #4

Name: Doug
Trailer: Escape
California
Registry
I used the one called RP-45 on Amazon, I forget the 4 digit spec. Been using it a few months now with no problem. I carefully cleaned all surfaces with soap & water and then Acetone.
DougOlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2017, 10:13 AM   #5

Name: Gordon
Trailer: 2015 Scamp (16 Std Layout 4) with '15 Toyota Sienna LE Tug
North Carolina
Suggest you read all 51 pages of this thread:
Our solar panel blew off!! - Escape Trailer Owners Community

Even if the tape (or epoxy if used) holds, the gel coat can (and apparently did) fail causing loss of the panel at highway speeds.

YMMV but I would ONLY use bolts with large backing plates with standard glass panels.
gordon2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2017, 10:33 AM   #6