Wash and wax? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-31-2020, 09:19 AM   #1

Name: Scott
Trailer: 1974 Boler 1300
Washington
Wash and wax?

I am new to owning a fiberglass RV. I am wondering if I should be washing and waxing it at the beginning of the season. I have it stored under a cover over the winter in Seattle. Product recommendations welcome.
Seattle Boler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 09:25 AM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Use a car wash soap, which doesn’t remove existing wax. For wax I like Meguiar’s Flagship Premium Marine Fiberglass Wax.
Jon in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 01:46 PM   #3

Name: Mick M
Trailer: Scamp
Washington
Wash & Wax

I live in the PNW and was using marine grade wax. However, I notice that it doesn't seem to hold up well on the roof as my Scamp is exposed to the elements. I have starting using Aero Cosmetics Wash Wax All product about every three months with some spot cleaning. I wash my trailer about every 3 month and rinse it off at least once a month. The Aero product goes on very easy and does bead up the water. I am spending significantly less than waxing. The downside is that the product seem to have a life of 4 month in the PNW. I do not mine as I find that the application can be applied wet with washing or dry.

You can find several review from private parties on this product.
Monk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 02:08 PM   #4

Trailer: Scamp 16 ft Side Dinette
Depends how fussy you are about looks.
Even under a cover it can get a layer of dust.
Wayne Collins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 11:50 AM   #5

Name: Jann
Trailer: Casita
Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seattle Boler View Post