What to look for when looking at a used camper - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-29-2020, 02:12 PM   #1

Name: Bob
Trailer: Bigfoot
California
What to look for when looking at a used camper

After posting in another thread, it was suggested that this might be helpful to others

So...

I'd like to start a thread about your own tips and tricks when looking at a used camper, what you look for, what you wished you would have looked for.

My perspective is from a purchase of well cared for 15 year old Bigfoot truck camper that I've now owned for 5 years. After having spent a year looking for the right rig.
I'm a former Product Designer who worked in transportation design and I managed an R&D lab working in transportation research. I have been accused of being persnickety about things.

Here's my list:

The biggest things to look out for but in no order;
Leaks, check very carefully around all windows, doors, hatches, vents, lights (especially the position lights) and any other opening also check the bondline where the top and bottom halves meet. Check to make sure the roof penetrations have been sealed, you will need to get on the roof for this and check around all the edges of each thing on the roof.
Look for past or present indications or witness lines of water intrusion.

Delamination, where the outer layer of fiberglass un-bonds from the layers below.

Condition of the holding tanks.
There can be some funky stuff growing in the fresh water tank and the black and grey tanks may have been parked partially full and then the liquid evaporated out leaving you with a mess.

Condition of all of the mechanicals and appliances.
Especially the water heater and fridge, those two are very expensive items to replace.