13' Scamp - Left turn signal and brake light - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-22-2007, 02:02 PM   #1

Trailer: 13 ft Scamp
Hello

We are trying to get our little camper road ready. All lights work with the exception of the left turn signal/brake light.
Can someone help us out with the troubleshootin , I have some eletrical experience.

Thanks!
Kate Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2007, 02:50 PM   #2

Trailer: Scamp
Send a message via Yahoo to Pete Dumbleton
We sometimes animatedly discuss whether the white wire is called ground, return or negative on trailer wiring, but 99.44% of exterior light problems on trailers turn out to be that wire, or lack of it's proper connection.

First thing to try, of course, is a new bulb. Also clean the contacts. Then run a wire from a good ground on the tow vehicle to the white wire at the fixture to see if things change.
Pete Dumbleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2007, 03:45 PM   #3

Trailer: 13 ft Scamp
Quote:
We sometimes animatedly discuss whether the white wire is called ground, return or negative on trailer wiring, but 99.44% of exterior light problems on trailers turn out to be that wire, or lack of it's proper connection.

First thing to try, of course, is a new bulb. Also clean the contacts. Then run a wire from a good ground on the tow vehicle to the white wire at the fixture to see if things change.

Thanks for the tips! I changed the bulb but did not clean the contacts.
I know the white wire you refer to, we'll give a try!
Kate Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2007, 06:01 PM   #4

Trailer: 16 ft Casita Spirit Deluxe