1975 Hunter Compact Floor Original linoleum - Asbestos Glue? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Maintenance | Restoration | Modifications | Problem Solving > Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 10-08-2017, 03:04 PM   #1

Name: Bradley
Trailer: Hunter Compact II
Oregon
1975 Hunter Compact Floor Original linoleum - Asbestos Glue?

Hi Everyone, this is my first time posting but I've been using the site a lot lately. It's been an amazing resource so far and I keep coming up with new ideas.
I recently got a good deal on a 1975 Hunter Compact 2 and starting my renovation. One of my first projects is ripping out the carpet but now I've run into linoleum. I've read a couple threads here dealing with the issue and it definitely seems case by case. Thought I might as well try to see if someone might have an answer that's definitive to my particular camper. I want to tear the linoleum up then sand the floor and glue down cork tiling (kudos to Jim Bennett for all the info! http://www.fiberglassrv.com/forums/f...ing-58623.html) Should I worry about this? Anyone have a hunter and had to deal with asbestos glue? I've attached photos of the linoleum incase it might help. Also, tempted to spend the $45 to get the glue tested for asbestos. Any thoughts appreciated.

If all else fails I'll leave it in and cover it with a layer of wood before the floor goes in. But it would be amazing to tear that 42 year old linoleum out.

-bradley
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_20171008_122926.jpg   IMG_20171008_122944.jpg  

IMG_20171008_123014.jpg  
Planetcookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 04:40 PM   #2

Name: Terry
Trailer: 1971 Hunter compact Jr, 1979 Terry 19', 2003 Scamp 16'
California
At that time asbestos was still very common in floorings and adhesives.