1988 Bigfoot 17' - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-30-2013, 12:06 AM   #1

Name: Evelyn
Oregon Coast
Question 1988 Bigfoot 17'

PLEASE don't laugh too hard, I'm new to all this. Just inherited my deceased parents' Big Foot (lucky me) & am still learning about it. (I'll be living in it full-time when my home sells.) A new 12V battery was installed, but I've had it plugged into my home electricity (yes, with the proper size extension cord ) while I'm cleaning it up. The converter is working, I believe, if the proof is a humming sound emanating from it (& by the way, is it supposed to hum continuously?). Today, I discovered that none of the overhead lights or the panel lights showing tank levels, battery condition, etc., are working any longer. The outlets work fine (I didn't check the fridge). I checked all the fuses & they appear to be OK. Any suggestions, or am I doomed to be in the dark forever? Thanks for any helpful advice; I appreciate it.
Ev in Oregon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 05:44 AM   #2

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
Hi Evelyn, to FiberglassRV, we're glad you're here

There's a fuse box in my Scamp. All the lights run off one block. Is it possible you've tripped a fuse and need to reset it? Others will pop in.

Since you're an Oregonian, have you considered coming to the Fall NOG? http://www.fiberglassrv.com/forums/f...ing-56050.html
Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 07:05 AM   #3

Name: David
Trailer: 1978 Trillium 1300
Cumberland, Indiana
Registry
Quote:
The converter is working, I believe, if the proof is a humming sound emanating from it (& by the way, is it supposed to hum continuously?).
Do you know why the converter hums?

It doesn't know the words!

Spanke
Old 08-30-2013, 10:56 AM   #4

Trailer: Fiber Stream 1978 / Honda Odyssey LX 2003
Registry