5th. Wheel hitch - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-23-2017, 08:12 AM   #1

Name: Dave
Trailer: Bigfoot
Newfoundland & Labrador
5th. Wheel hitch

Are 5th. wheel trailer hitches all the same with regard to the pin position and locking device?
I realize that the base of the hitch will vary depending on the manufacturer's design and installation but are they like the big rigs, does one size fit all?
Thanks in advance. SD.
Old 04-23-2017, 11:20 AM   #2

Trailer: Scamp 16 ft Side Dinette
No. A "5th Wheel" Scamp has, actually, a Gooseneck hitch. It mounts to a ball which is fixed to the bed of a pickup truck.
True 5th wheel hitches use a raised frame work in the truck bed that supports a flat plate "5th Wheel" Those may be more standardized. But I am no expert.
Wayne Collins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2017, 12:24 PM   #3

Name: Robert
Trailer: Scamp
Virginia
"5th Wheel Scamp Hitch"

The Scamp 19 foot "5th wheel" trailer's hitch is partially a gooseneck and partially and 5th wheel. It requires a 2" ball raised in the bed of the truck at the height of a true 5th wheel. A true gooseneck hitch has the ball mounted on the floor of the truck's bed.
bertherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2017, 12:53 PM   #4

Name: Carl
Trailer: 2015 Escape 5.0TA
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scouter Dave View Post
Are 5th. wheel trailer hitches all the same with regard to the pin position and locking device?
I realize that the base of the hitch will vary depending on the manufacturer's design and installation but are they like the big rigs, does one size fit all?
Thanks in advance. SD.