AC unit dilemma - Fiberglass RV

Old 04-09-2020, 04:50 PM   #1

Name: Annalise
Trailer: Scamp
Lake Worth
AC unit dilemma

Hello, everyone! I have been doing some research on AC units for my 13 ft 1988 Scamp, and I have narrowed it down to two style options: Dometic Penguin II Low Profile Roof AC unit and the Dometic Cool Cat closet AC unit. Does anyone have these AC units? Are the low profile rooftop AC units better than closet units? Are there any other units that are similar to these but cheaper? I would love to hear the pros and cons about what you guys have!
annalisewellman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 05:37 PM   #2

Name: Kenneth
Wisconsin
Registry
Statement from Scamp

Quote:
Originally Posted by annalisewellman View Post
Hello, everyone! I have been doing some research on AC units for my 13 ft 1988 Scamp, and I have narrowed it down to two style options: Dometic Penguin II Low Profile Roof AC unit and the Dometic Cool Cat closet AC unit. Does anyone have these AC units? Are the low profile rooftop AC units better than closet units? Are there any other units that are similar to these but cheaper? I would love to hear the pros and cons about what you guys have!
Q. Can roof air conditioners be added to older Scamp trailers? A. Thirteen foot Scamp trailers donít have the roof air support unless there is already a roof air installed or if the original buyer requested that the trailer be built that way. Also most trailers with a power vent in the roof air spot wonít have supported roofs. Most 16 and 13 foot trailers prior to 2000 used a side air conditioner in the lower part of the closet by the door. This air conditioner is no longer available.
AC0GV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 09:00 AM   #3

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry