Any Tips for Towing in the Snow - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-19-2019, 05:41 PM   #1

Name: Shaun
Trailer: 92 casita freedom 16
Utah
Any Tips for Towing in the Snow

So it looks like our Thanksgiving trip might include a bit of driving in the snow. I'm fairly new to towing and am just wondering if any of you have tow in the winter can provide me with some pointers.

I have trailer brakes and a 2018 4WD Toyota Tacoma that we will be towing a 2016 Casita with.
Swmalone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 05:54 PM   #2

Trailer: 2009 19 ft Escape / 2009 Honda Pilot
Registry
I tow in the snow all the time. I use winter tires on the truck, and use care when driving, especially when slippery. On real wet slippery snow I usually wait.
“Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be.” — Abraham Lincoln
Jim Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 06:01 PM   #3

Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Bennett View Post
I tow in the snow all the time. I use winter tires on the truck, and use care when driving, especially when slippery. On real wet slippery snow I usually wait.
Anything special you do with the trailer?

I have the stock tires on there still, don't think I have enough time or funds at the moment to get new tires. Living in Utah we can get wet or dry snow and it can change within a couple of miles. Right now it looks like they are predicting about 6 inches in a couple of days over Thanksgiving. Of course we are a bit over a week out so the forecast could change several times before then.
Old 11-19-2019, 07:58 PM   #4

Name: John
Trailer: Roamer 1
Smith Valley, Nevada
In your case, avoid it if at all possible. Just because someone else does it "all the time", it doesn't mean you should. Especially with old stock street tires, and little experience.