Battery Minder? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-31-2017, 05:06 PM   #1

Name: Connie
Trailer: Scamp
Michigan
Battery Minder?

Hi,
I am wondering how people feel about using a battery minder on my new 2017 13' Scamp. I was not planning on plugging it in to the house for the winter. I was thinking of using a battery minder or removing the battery and storing it in the house. What our people opinions on this matter. I live in Michigan so it does get cold here. Any input would be appreciated. Never owned a trailer before so I am new to this stuff.
Thank you,
Connie
Maneelu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 05:40 PM   #2

Name: Dave
Trailer: Casita SD17 2006 "Missing Link"
California
Probably the easiest thing would be to bring it inside.
Borrego Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 06:04 PM   #3

Name: bob
Trailer: 1996 Casita 17 Spirit Deluxe; 1946 Modernistic teardrop
New York
I bring all batteries inside and put a charger on them about once a month. I don't like leaving any device plugged in when I'm not there. I heard of a fire in a garage housing vintage cars being blamed on a battery minder, and another garage fire blamed on an engine block heater.
mary and bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 06:11 PM   #4

Name: Connie
Michigan
Battery minder

Thanks for all the great advice. I will be bringing in the battery
Maneelu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 08:16 PM   #5

Name: John
Trailer: Roamer 1
Smith Valley, Nevada
I leave my Oliver plugged in all the time and never worry about it. As long as you have a smart charger built in, or a quality battery tender, you're good to go.

A fully charged battery is quite freeze resistant, but I can't remember down to what temp they are OK.