Belly Band Help! '75 Trillium 1300 - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-20-2016, 09:05 PM   #1

Name: Kelly
Trailer: '75 Trillium 1300
Arizona
Belly Band Help! '75 Trillium 1300

I did the big window repair last year and now water is gathering under the goucho and appears to be coming in from under the ensolite. I pulled the belly band off the front. (NONE of the rivets were holding it in. Just 5 screws that the PO had put in that we're pretty rotten.) I've never done fiberglass work before but bought the fg cloth and resin today at Lowe's and got to sanding/grinding.
Well I tore thru some of the fiberglass sheet holding the two halves together and the black foam of the ensolite is visible. And there are no metal plates in there for the rivets. I'm guessing the PO already did some work on the belly band a decade or so ago and that's why it looks so ghastly. Is this fixable with the fiberglass cloth or do I need to get it significantly smoother?
Also, I was originally planning to reattach the belly band but if the glass work isn't too tedious, I may try to find an adhesive trim like Randy Bishop did. http://www.fiberglassrv.com/forums/f...0-a-40243.html

Upon removing the front belly band:
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByFiberglass RV1466477999.410384.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	84.0 KB
ID:	96602

After a failed attempt at smoothing it down:

Name:	ImageUploadedByFiberglass RV1466478071.250414.jpg
Size:	62.3 KB
ID:	96603

Name:	ImageUploadedByFiberglass RV1466478083.718859.jpg
Size:	73.9 KB
ID:	96604
Kelly H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2016, 09:14 PM   #2

Trailer: 2004 13 ft Scamp Custom Deluxe
Registry
tiger hair and reinstall the belly band the insert is available in several colors...

floyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2016, 10:36 AM   #3

Trailer: 1976 Trillium 13 ft