Best location for a ground - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-16-2010, 11:48 PM   #1

Trailer: 1976 Scamp 13 ft
Registry
Best location for a ground

I'm in the process of wireing my trailer from scratch and have a question. I understand the 110 service and have that almost done, but I'm new to 12V. I have made up a wireing diagram, but I'm not sure where the best place to put the ground. Should I have one at the battery, or would one be better at the converter? Should it be in the line that goes from the conveter to the battery? I've looked at the scamp wiring diagram, but didn't see the location of ground on it.

Thanks
DannyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 12:34 AM   #2

Trailer: 1973 Hunter Compact Jr
Normal practice is to have a dedicated ground wire for all 12V connections. Do not use a chassis ground. You should have a fusebox or panel for the accesories. There should be a ground connection that connects to the negative pole of the battery.
Dave Bese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 12:59 AM   #3

Trailer: Scamp
Registry
The negative connection is simply another wire. Old habits die hard so it's often called "ground".
The real ground is the green wire in the 120 circuit. It should be connected to the frame of the trailer close to where the cord enters the trailer. There should be no other connections to the trailer frame other than that single connection.
Trailers use conventional house wiring colors. White is the negative and black is the positive. Other colors go to brake/turn lights, back up lights, brakes, and running lights. Those are pretty well documented in the Scamp schematic.
Old 11-17-2010, 09:01 AM   #4

Registry