Bike Racks - Tongue Mounted - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-07-2020, 04:07 PM   #1

Name: Ed
Trailer: Scamp
Michigan
Bike Racks - Tongue Mounted

After reading the tales of caution posted in this and other forums regarding hitch mounted bike racks extending off the end of lightweight travel trailers, I've determined that as a newbie, I'm not going to take the risk with our 16' Scamp (2020). Which puts me in a quandary as I need a way to transport 2 bikes. I'm trying to see if any of the tongue mount racks are an option. The Arvika looks great, but with the limited available frame space on the Scamp I don't see any way to successfully attach it. The Jack-it 2 (Lippert) looks more promising, but I'm concerned about the space available between its rack location and the front of the Scamp. Has anyone successfully installed and used the Jack-it 2 with a Scamp to transport 2 adult sized bikes? If you've done so with one of the other Fiberglass RVs, I'd love to hear your thoughts as well.
Ed in St Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 07:40 PM   #2

Name: bob
Trailer: 1996 Casita 17 Spirit Deluxe; 1946 Modernistic teardrop
New York
A few years ago at a rally we met the owner of a fairly new Scamp 13. He had built a bike rack on the tongue, using steel angle as I recall. It was made to set on top of the trailer frame, and over the propane tank. He did a real nice job on it.
mary and bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 10:04 PM   #3

Trailer: U-Haul CT13
Registry