Boler flourescent light - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-20-2006, 12:27 AM   #1

Trailer: 1970 Boler
I got the 120 volt running today for the first time since I bought it. I installed a new 15 amp breaker and a new power cable and plugged it in. Happy to see the outlet works and the flourescent light (20 watts) has power.

My Q though....The flouresecnt light only will light when I move it around a bit in the light fixture. When I first turn it on I can see the ends illuminate but it never fully comes on till I move it a little. I am new to flourescent lights all together so what is going, do I need a new bulb, ballast or is it the fixture itself ??

Thanks!!
Kurt in BC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2006, 06:25 PM   #2

Trailer: 1970 Boler
no one experience this "phenomenon"
Kurt in BC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2006, 08:49 PM   #3

Trailer: 1968 Venture (Molded Fiberglass 19 ft Class A Motorhome) and 82 TranStar B+
Send a message via AIM to Penny Taylor Send a message via Yahoo to Penny Taylor
Have you tried cleaning the contacts, with some Deoxit, or contact cleaner ? Have you made sure that the bulb is making good contact where the bulb seats ? (With 110v. disconnected) Sometimes they do act like that, when the bulb is getting old. I have one florescent in my kitchen that can be tempermental, too. The others work fine.
Penny Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2006, 08:17 AM   #4

Trailer: Boler 1300 1977 (#2033 L EGGO)
Hi,

The original instruction papers with our '77 Boler say "Be sure that the extension cord is plugged into a grounded circuit, otherwise the fluorescent light will not come on. If a grounded circuit is not available, simply rub the bottom of the fluorescent bulb with your finger and it will light up."

Please let us know if it's true.

D & D
Des Nolan is offline   Reply With Quote