Brake controller - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-04-2020, 07:20 AM   #1

Trailer: U-Haul
SE Pennsylvania
Brake controller

In preparation for my new trailer due early 2021 I am researching brake controllers. I have never used one before so I have been studying. I will be towing a Happier Camper Traveler with a 2019 VW Atlas 6 cylinder.

The Prodigy consistently seems to be a top choice. What other controllers do you folk recommend?

Have any of you folk towed with an Atlas and what controller do you use? Are there any unique aspects of the Atlas to be aware of?
Craig D. Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2020, 08:02 AM   #2

Trailer: Bigfoot Silver Cloud -1988
Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin A
First, does your Atlas have a built-in brake controller or a wiring harness ready for a plug-in controller? If not, you will need to have the controller wired into your system.

My preference is the Tekonsha P3, but the P2 is also very good. They are easy to program and use.
Kevin A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2020, 08:06 AM   #3

Name: Mike
Trailer: Waiting on 16" Scamp
Colorado Springs
Tenkosha

We too are waiting on a trailer (16 Scamp) in December. After researching I put a Tenkosha P3 in out Tahoe and tested out the wiring. Probably overkill controller but what the heck
mm2670 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2020, 08:28 AM   #4

SE Pennsylvania
My Atlas has the factory tow hitch package but no built in controller. I was told it has the wiring harness for a controller.

Thanks for the input on the P3. Can it be installed at any angle or does it need to be level?

This might seem a but silly but would some of you folk post a photo of your controller installed in your dashboard? I have not seen many installations and it would help for me to see where they can be installed.
Old 08-04-2020, 08:42 AM   #5