Burning Smell - Brakes?? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-20-2014, 06:25 AM   #1

Name: Huck
Trailer: ParkLiner
Virginia
Burning Smell - Brakes??

I picked up my Parkliner yesterday and on the drive home (about 1 hour), I smelled something that I think was something burning. I stopped and checked a couple of times and the smell was very faint and I couldn't identify where it was coming from.

I've never used a brake controller before and wonder if that might be the problem. I could use some help understanding the instructions. The brake controller display indicates it is hooked up correctly.

The instructions say:
  1. Connect trailer to tow vehicle (OK)
  2. Set power knob to 6.0 (OK)
  3. Drive 25 mph and fully apply manual knob (I pushed the manual knob all the way to the left while driving)
  4. If brakes lock (turn power level down)
  5. If brakes not sufficient (turn power level up)
  6. Repeat until properly set
Step 3 was confusing. The instructions didn't say how to fully apply the manual knob or what was supposed to happen when it was applied. I pushed it all the way to the left as that was the only option I saw. Nothing happened when I pushed it to the left.

When I applied the breaks the trailer breaks didn't lock and I had good control, but I couldn't really tell if the trailer brakes were working or not. I left the controller on 6 and headed home.

Going up hill, I felt something strange, but can't clearly describe it. It was kind of like the engine was surging, but it wasn't the engine. I'm wondering if the brake controller was engaging the trailer brakes for short periods of time. It was subtle and mainly a feel thing.

I've checked the manual for troubleshooting tips and nothing matches what i experienced.

What should I check and how can I test it?

ETA: The trailer hadn't been towed before.