Cabinet structual support? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-10-2007, 04:30 PM   #1

Trailer: Cadet 1985 / 2006 Element
The Cadet has the tall cabinet in the usual place inside the door. One side is screwed into a fiberglass flange and the other side is screwed into the door frame. Is this design providing some sort of structural support? Where are the engineers?
DonInChatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2007, 05:22 PM   #2

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
I'm not an engineer, nor do I play one on TV but I know when Scamp has sold one of their "blank slates," it had a closet support by the door. They wouldn't sell a trailer completely empty on the inside...it was said those items were needed to support the roof. Now a Cadet

On Edit: I found the topic posted by Dan Landt (prehack), we've lost the pictures due to that blasted hacker
Scamp 16' Modifications, Finally posting windows, A/C and bed installs

Then there's this one:
Scamp structural integrity, wall between side dinette and rear bed ?
Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 08:04 AM   #3

Trailer: 2007 19 ft Escape 5.0 / 2002 GMC (1973 Boler project)
Registry
Send a message via Yahoo to Alf S.
Hi: In our Boler the one cabinet twisted metal support (very controversial) is positioned across the trailer from the closet...This would lead me( a non engineer type) to believe it is to ballance out support for both sides of the fiberglass shell/roof!!! I feel strongly that support is needed...but in as light weight a manner as possible and the closet next to the door opening helps at a critical spot of weakness... My Humble Opinion... Don you gotta neat looker...Enjoy it!!! Alf S. North shore of Lake Erie
Alf S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 08:48 AM   #4

Trailer: Cadet 1985 / 2006 Element
Quote: