Cabinets are detached from roof - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-14-2013, 08:08 PM   #1

Name: J
Trailer: Trillium
Ontario
Cabinets are detached from roof

Hi there. I just bought a trillium.. i can't remember the year. i think it's a 1974.
I have a few things that I need to repair and was hoping someone could point me in the right direction. I apologize in advance for my terminology! I'm a newbie and I don't know the proper names of all the parts.

1. the cabinets that are above the sink are starting to sag. They've detached from the roof. I've seen photos where people have installed metal bars that seem to be supporting the cabinets. I'm just wondering if this is the best way to go.
2. I'm not sure what it's called, but there are some plastic strips that "plug" into the insulation... some of my strips are falling off. Someone mentioned to me that if i take a blowdryer to it, it'll make these plastic strips pliable and i can just push them back into place. Is this correct? or should I be gluing them?
3. Flooring. It currently has some linoleum on the floor, which I'd like to replace with some newer linoleum. Once I remove the old stuff, do I need to clean off the glue / residue before laying down new linoleum?
4. Finally, will it devalue my trailer if I were to paint the cupboards? Right now, they are pink particle board... I think. I'm not a 100% on the material.

Thank you!
jlwl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 08:25 PM   #2

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
Hi "J" to FiberglassRV, we're glad you're here

We have quite a number of Trillium owners here and I know you'll get answers to your questions shortly.

But, I just wanted to pop in and say HI!
Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 03:09 PM   #3

Name: Josh
Trailer: Boler 1300
Washington
Hey jlwl,