Can a 3-way Dometic fridge work on 120V while not hooked up to gas? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Maintenance | Restoration | Modifications | Problem Solving > Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 06-19-2020, 04:52 AM   #1

Name: Vic
Trailer: Trillium
Ontario
Can a 3-way Dometic fridge work on 120V while not hooked up to gas?

I'm just starting to learn about trailers and fridges so excuse my dumb questions please.
I've recently acquired 1980 Trillium 4500 with a Dometic RM360 fridge. It's supposed to work on 12V, 120V and propane. It's not working at all. I've replaced thermocouple and used compressed air to clean everything (to some extent).
I'm wondering if the fridge should work while plugged into a wall outlet and not hooked up to the propane tank.
Any help/advice will be appreciated.
Vic Berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2020, 05:53 AM   #2

Name: Carl
Trailer: 2015 Escape 5.0TA
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by vicinto View Post
I'm just starting to learn about trailers and fridges so excuse my dumb questions please.
I've recently acquired 1980 Trillium 4500 with a Dometic RM360 fridge. It's supposed to work on 12V, 120V and propane. It's not working at all. I've replaced thermocouple and used compressed air to clean everything (to some extent).
I'm wondering if the fridge should work while plugged into a wall outlet and not hooked up to the propane tank.
The simple answer is yes. If it is not working on 120 vac there is a problem, but without additional information, it is not possible to say why.