Casita in the Elements - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-08-2020, 06:00 PM   #1

Name: Amy
Trailer: Casita Independence Deluxe 17
Florida
Casita in the Elements

Hi - I bought a used Casita 17 Independence Deluxe a few months ago. My friends have allowed me to park it on their property until I can get a place to house it. I live in FL, near the East Coast. Is it ok to leave it outside with no cover? If not, what do:you suggest? How about covering the tires? I am a teacher, and spent my savings on the Casita. I need a low-cost solution. Thanks! Amy (Going to Ft. Clinch for a few days this month. Super hot summer!)
Old 07-09-2020, 11:42 AM   #2

Name: Allen
Trailer: in the market
Quebec
Always remember to vent the unit as temperatures in the cabin will get excessive. I always use an odor absorber as well to keep it a happy place.
Enjoy your new camper in good health.
thekas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 11:44 AM   #3

Name: Martin
Trailer: 1993 CASITA 16SD
Texas
A Casita is kind of like a boat. It's made the same way as a fiberglass boat and, therefore, can be left out in the elements just like a boat. Cosmetically it would be better covered. That would limit things like gelcoat degradation, tree sap, bird poop, etc. Considering that the ultraviolet rays are much less intense in Florida than say New Mexico, you don't have to worry so much about the gelcoat. I have a 1993 that's never been covered and still looks good considering it's age. I will have to replace the curtains which have finally begun to break down from UV exposure in Texas. So ... short answer ... your Casita is made to be outdoors and, barring extremes like hurricanes, it should be fine with a good cleaning once in a while. Good luck!
CASITA BANANA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 12:12 PM   #4

Florida