Compact II fresh water intake and sealing windows??? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-23-2009, 06:00 PM   #1

Trailer: 1973 Compact II
At some point in this little trailer's history since manufacture in 1973, the cover for the fresh water intake on outside of trailer was lost. Any suggestions for a replacement?

Also, since it has been without a cover for a looooooong time, the tank needs cleaning before using. Again, any suggestions? I'm brand new at this and keep asking these questions but you all keep coming up with answers so one more -

Can I just tuck the putty tape/seal under the edge of the window frame after getting out the old sealant or do I really have to take windows out to do it?

Thank you,
Pat
Pat Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 06:57 PM   #2

Trailer: Fiber Stream 1978 / Honda Odyssey LX 2003
Registry
Send a message via AIM to Frederick L. Simson
Question

Quote:
Can I just tuck the putty tape/seal under the edge of the window frame after getting out the old sealant or do I really have to take windows out to do it?
Yes, you really have to take the windows out.

The putty/butyl tape needs to rest flat between the window frame and the trailer body. Poking it in from the edge won't get full coverage for a proper seal. Plus, after it is applied to the inside of the exterior metal frame, it needs to be tightened to the interior frame. On my old Compact Jr. the interior wood frames had to be replaced so that the screws had good wood to bite into.
Old 01-23-2009, 08:47 PM   #3

Trailer: 1971 Astro (ie. Campster/Hunter I)
Send a message via MSN to Harry Young Send a message via Yahoo to Harry Young
Pat is this the fresh water fill? or the Air vent cover for the drain? or the half moon cover to the fill port?

Harry
Harry Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 09:49 PM   #4