Converter Replacement - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-19-2022, 05:57 PM   #1

Name: Kelly
Trailer: Scamp 16
Washington
Converter Replacement

Hi All,

I have a 1990 Scamp 16 with the original converter and would like to upgrade it to something more modern. I've been scouring related posts which have been helpful. I am not an electrician by any means and need all the help I can get.

While browsing through various posts there was a lot of discussion around grounding the converter to the trailer frame. After reading I came away with the understanding that I should not ground the new converter to the frame. My original converter was not wired to the frame either. Unless a previous owner changed something but I doubt it.

The various posts on grounding seemed to indicate that the only ground is the green wire from the shore power. I guess I'm still confused if there is supposed to be a actual wire grounding the shore power to the frame somewhere? I don't see one on my trailer. I did the power cord conversion a few years ago and replaced with the external twist lock. I'm just wondering if I screwed something up when I changed that. I don't recall seeing any wires running to the frame and I can't imagine I would have removed it but you never know.

As far as installing the new converter I am not planning on grounding it to the frame. Did I misinterpret what I read or is that correct?

I have not ordered anything yet and am just trying to make sure I understand how exactly to wire the new converter and fuse box before I purchase something I can't install.