Darrylmda7 - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-09-2020, 05:11 PM   #1

Name: Darryl
Trailer: Casita
Oregon
Darrylmda7

I have a 2007 casita 17. I have one small sway bar connection ball on one side of the trailer tongue assembly. A: Should there be one on each side? B:do I need to have them at all? C: do I need to buy a whole new hitch assembly under my truck? My trailer weighs @ 2350 lbs and @. 2500lbs loaded for travel. I’m new at trailering. I’m also brand new to these forums so please be gentle.
Darrylmda7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 05:24 PM   #2

Name: bill
Trailer: 2013 Escape 19
The Mountains of North Carolina
Registry
[What is your tow vehicle? I didn’t need them with my F150. The key on hitch is getting your tongue at the right height. If it’s too high you won’t have enough tongue weight. Take your setup to the nearest truck stop and weigh it. Is your weight actual or “someone told me”. Sounds light for a Casita 17.
thrifty bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 06:14 PM   #3

Name: Mike
Trailer: Escape 21 & Jeep GC 5.7 (Previous 2012 Casita FD17 & 2010 Audi Q5)
Puget Sound, WA
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrylmda7 View Post
I have a 2007 casita 17. I have one small sway bar connection ball on one side of the trailer tongue assembly. A: Should there be one on each side? B:do I need to have them at all? C: do I need to buy a whole new hitch assembly under my truck? My trailer weighs @ 2350 lbs and @. 2500lbs loaded for travel. I’m new at trailering. I’m also brand new to these forums so please be gentle.
Welcome to the forum where folks generally get it sorted out mostly amicably!

A: The small sway bar connection balls are only required on one side.