Dicor VS Sashco "Through the Roof" sealant - Fiberglass RV

Old 10-02-2018, 12:19 PM   #1

Name: Marcia
Trailer: Bigfoot
Colorado
Question Dicor VS Sashco "Through the Roof" sealant

I am wanting to reseal the fiberglass lid on my 17 Bigfoot trailer and wondering why everyone uses Dicor lap sealant? I see from receipts I got from the previous owner that the Dicor that was "professionally" applied by an RV repair shop less than 2 years ago has failed in several spots, probably due to shrinkage of the Dicor product. I see most people re-apply the Dicor every few years I assume for similar reasons I am seeing on my lid.

I have been using sashco "through the roof" sealant for 20+ years on a metal roof located at 9400 ft in mountains of Colorado around skylights and vents and have yet to have a failure or need to re-apply. I know professional roofers also use this product because it works so well. It bonds to everything, has great elastic properties, lasts forever and even sets up when wet.

I am thinking this is a better product than Dicor for RV use, but am wondering why everyone likes Dicor. I understand the Sashco product does have some toxic off gassing of probably carcinogenic solvents, so a good mask and other PP equipement is advised. Is there something I am missing here? Anyone used the Sashco product and had good or bad experience to report? Thanks for help!

Link to Sashco product:
Through the Roof! by Sashco - Roofing Sealant & Caulk

mcmars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2018, 02:39 PM   #2

Name: John & Gloria
Trailer: Bigfoot 21RB
Florida