Electrib Brake Novice Here - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-30-2016, 06:26 PM   #1

Name: Peg
Trailer: 2016 -13' Scamp
Massachusetts
Electrib Brake Novice Here

I just read the instructions for the Primus IQ brake controller that is installed in my TV and just waiting for the new 13' Scamp (May 4th). I am worried that there is a big learning curve associated with this project. I'll be hauling the trailer to Montana and back - so lots of grade changes are in the works. I think I'm already in over my head, having never hauled a trailer with brakes. Please tell me it's easy to set (and forget, hopefully) the controller. Maybe they'll help me with it at the factory. Wishful thinking?
herons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 06:35 PM   #2

Trailer: Scamp 16 ft
Registry
It' soooo easy ..even I can do it

Ask the guys up in Backus...they will set it for you and it really is a set it and forget it

(2) Big Green Eggs for cooking..(1) Egg for camping
BillE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 09:04 AM   #3

Name: Patrick
Trailer: Shopping for new RV
North Carolina
Herons, If your brake controller was installed by a professional it should have come with some instruction. If properly installed you will have no problem. You will have to fine tune the amount of "grab" your brakes apply from time to time.
Also test the trailer brakes daily before you start a leg of your trip...again following the instructions. It is a simple procedure once you get used to the system.