Help with propane setup - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-25-2017, 09:05 AM   #1

Name: Joe
Trailer: 2013 EggCamper & 2011 Silverado Reg Cab 4x4
Ohio
Help with propane setup

Hello. I'm dabbling in an area I have very little knowledge of! Any help is greatly appreciated. Here is my planned setup:

(2) 20 lb propane tanks on the tongue of the camper. I want to have auto switch over when one tank empties it goes to the next, then shows red so I know to refill the empty one.

Here's the catch - I'm not running any propane to the camper - I'm only running it to (2) quick connect outlets on the tongue. 1 outlet will be used to run a Honda EU2000i generator with a GenConnectxDirect conversion. The other will be used for a portable gas grill.

So that being said - I assume the generator and the grille all have their own regulators - so I would be running unregulated high pressure to both? But to get the auto changeover feature at the tank I need a regulator with that feature built in? So do I put a high pressure auto change over regulator at the tank, then run to the (2) quick connects? I want the ability to run both at the same time.

I'm sure I'm wrong in the install plan - please let me know the best solution!

Thanks so much in advance!!
2013 EggCamper #120

Joe's EggCamper Journal
Joe & Cherie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2017, 09:16 AM   #2

Name: Neto
Trailer: Scamp
Virginia
Great question, I just purchased a kit to put on a generator and want to do the same. Will B looking forward to the answer.
Neto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2017, 09:33 AM   #3

Name: RogerDat
Trailer: 2010 Scamp 16
Michigan