How to get this thing legal again? - Fiberglass RV

Old 02-04-2020, 12:33 PM   #1

Name: Em
Trailer: In the market
Washington, D.C.
Exclamation How to get this thing legal again?

https://norfolk.craigslist.org/rvs/d...068642684.html

I am really interested in this set up because it's in my price range, but I'm concerned about the axel situation, and I definitely want to take off that front storage.

What is the solution for the axel and how much should I anticipate that costing? Can an average shop do that? I don't even know where to look on that one.

Also missing title, what process would I have to go through?

Sorry I'm a newb, but this looks lie a potentially good deal

wandering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2020, 04:14 PM   #2

Name: Kenneth
Trailer: Scamp
Wisconsin
Registry
Make it legal

Quote:
Originally Posted by wandering View Post

I am really interested in this set up because it's in my price range, but I'm concerned about the axel situation, and I definitely want to take off that front storage.

l
I would run not walk from that price/project. But if you want it, the first step is to inspect all of the frame work and floor. If they are ok the seller needs to get a valid title to prove that it his to sell. Next, I would put a stock axle back under it. Many trailer shops can do that.

AC0GV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2020, 05:13 PM   #3

Name: Jim
Trailer: Bigfoot
Texas
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by wandering View Post

What is the solution for the axel and how much should I anticipate that costing? Can an average shop do that? I don't even know where to look on that one.

Sorry I'm a newb, but this looks lie a potentially good deal
Axle seems to be the least of the problems.
Less than $1000 will get a new one installed.
But - that paintwork looks awful.
Did it get painted from a rattle-can?

Refinishing that would be a deal-breaker for me.

Jim
Old 02-04-2020, 07:59 PM   #4

Name: Eddie
Trailer: 2014 Escape 21, Lil Joe