I want new flooring! - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-14-2018, 08:50 PM   #1

Name: Lee
Trailer: Casita
Oregon
I want new flooring!

I will may use sheet vinyl. I was wondering about the bases for the tables. Do I remove them, note the location then reinstall in the same place? I have installed vinyl tile many years ago which worked just fine, the kind you Comb the adhesive on them and place down, but I am thinking of sheet vinyl for better water protection. I was thinking making paper pattern then cutting the sheet vinyl to fit, applying adhesive as I go unrolling the cut vinyl
Am I on the right track? I have no experience doing this, I did am wondering if I should just hire someone!
I don’t know if I should just go with what I have done in the past with the vinyl tiles. There are some really beautiful tiles out there!
Suggestions?
Leej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 12:48 PM   #2

Name: Kathleen (Kai: ai as in wait)
Trailer: Amerigo FG-16 1973 "Peanut"
Greater Seattle Metropolitan Area, Washington
Registry
Some of the new sheet vinyl doesn't require glue--all you'd need would be trim around the edges. I'd use that if I were installing vinyl flooring. I wouldn't use individual tiles for the reason you wrote. Be sure to make sure you get the kind that doesn't need glue, though, I can't tell them apart just looking at them. As for hardware, yes, probably mark location on your paper pattern and replace over the top. Maybe seal cut areas with butyl tape or something.

People have done all kinds of things--hardwood, pergo, sheet vinyl, tiles, carpet...even hand-painted floors with layers of clear sealer.

We do love photos!

BEST
Kai
Old 03-15-2018, 02:07 PM   #3

Name: Steve
Trailer: 1979 Boler1700
Maple Ridge, B.C.
Registry