Inspected an Amerigo today and have some confusion and concerns - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-28-2018, 10:12 PM   #1

Name: Kaat
Trailer: In market
New York
Inspected an Amerigo today and have some confusion and concerns

I just checked out an Amerigo Camper today and have a few questions and concerns... bear with me for I am new to fiberglass campers!

There is no roof vent but there is two side vents, one for the stove and the other for the fridge. I don't feel the stove vent will be adequate for air circulation. Has anyone installed a roof vent in their fiberglass camper successfully? Something like the Maxxair or Fantastic fan? The fridge vent is essentially a vent cover and screen... that will definitely need to get sealed up/insulated somehow.

By peeking into the cabinets and under benches, I noticed that I can see bare fiberglass and that the insulation is fiberglass batting. Insulation seems to be quite patchy which is concerning being from NY. How do most of you insulate your campers? I read something here about not removing the inner wall layer from the insulation sandwiched in between or the structural integrity will be ruined. I am quite confused by this after seeing this camper and many images... By being able to see the insulation and bare fiberglass, does that mean this camper was stripped down too far? How can I check for that?

It's been raining all day which worked out perfectly for my inspection. I only found two minor wet spots in the back which seems to be leaking from the window and poorly sealed AC unit installed. Are windows easy to seal up? I will likely remove the AC and get some pexiglass in the back window.