Interior fiberglass - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-07-2022, 08:40 AM   #1

Name: Harry
Trailer: Tote & Tarry
Georgia
Interior fiberglass

Hi guys,
I’m new to the world of fiberglass campers and need some advice on the interior shell. We just bought a 1972
“Tote and Tarry” (scamp) as a fixer upper.
The previous owner rebuilt the old frame, replaced the axle, and took the outer shell apart. In separating the shell it appears that he removed the wide interior belly band by
Cutting approximately an inch or so from both the upper and lower interior shells.
This leaves a 2”to 3”gap all the way around the inside of the camper. Is this going to be a structural problem? Any advice is welcome.
HarryLloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2022, 11:02 AM   #2

Name: Pat
Trailer: 2006 Scamp 19 Deluxe
Enchanted Mountains of Western New York State on the Amish Trail in Cattaraugus County!
Post some pictures!
parmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2022, 11:24 AM   #3

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
There are a number of methods used to join the top and bottom shells together. Agree that a photo of both the inside and the outside of the belly band would be helpful, along with a close-up plus a wider shot for perspective.

From archive photos the Tote & Tarry appears just like a Scamp. If so, the upper shell was set on top of the lower and clamped on the outside using protruding lips that serve as a mating surface for the two pieces. A strip of fiberglass was laid along the seam on the inside to bond them together, then the clamps were removed and the belly band trim (cosmetic only) riveted in place to cover the rough edges of the outer lip.