Leveling a Scamp When Camping - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-07-2014, 08:05 PM   #1

Name: Wendy Lee
Trailer: Scamp 13' Standard
New York
Registry
Leveling a Scamp When Camping

Dear FGRV Friends,
Although I have 5 years experience leveling a pop up camper, I have never done so with my Scamp 13, as I just picked her up in October and the camping season was over here in Western NY.
My pop up had the same stab jacks in the back as the Scamp does. In the front of the pop up, I put stationary jacks. This is, of course, using Lynx levelers, wood pieces, etc. to get the trailer level front to back and the best I could side to side.
Is the leveling process of a Scamp much different? My concern is now that I have a 3 way fridge, they're supposed to be super level, right?
Thank you for your time and responses which I know will be helpful to me!

Sincerely,
Wendy (CampyTime)
CampyTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 08:17 PM   #2

Name: Norm and Ginny
Trailer: Scamp 16
Florida
Wendy,

We have a 1991 Scamp and do not find that 'super' leveling is critical to the operation of the fridge.

We have a level mounted on the front and side of our trailer and we attempt to get the trailer level side to side, nothing strict or religious about it.

We carry a couple of 2"x 6" x 1' Often we'll put one under the low side of the trailer's wheel by towing the vehicle onto it. We have sloped one edge of the 2x6 to make it easier to do. One board is usually adequate.

To level front to back we use the trailer's tongue jack.

We do not use the corner supporting jacks to level the trailer. Their primary purpose is stabilization.

2014 Honda Odyssey
1991 Scamp 16
honda03842 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 08:34 PM   #3

New York
Registry
Hello Honda,