Making a door - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-14-2012, 03:53 PM   #1

Name: Cathy
Trailer: 1973 Love Bug '13
Florida
Registry
Making a door

Well I would like to be posting updates but sadly I am not. The boat builder that we had to build a new door for out 1973 Love bug fell through. I'm going to make an attempt at it. Worst that will happen is, I will lose the cost of the resin and mat, ... best thing.. I will have a door, and one way or the other I will learn something

I am pretty set on having a door as much like the original as possible. By that I mean a fiberglass door that matches the contours of the shell.

I plan to create a template from the outside and cover it with mylar, so will be laying up fiberglass from the inside, this will enable me to get a smooth exterior on the door. I have limited knowledge about available materials. Thus far I have used various weights of mat, and roving. I am wondering if there is a finer type of glass that could be used to help achieve a smooth surface on the exterior of the door.

We will be painting the camper as some point so gell coat is not needed.

Input please?

Cat
Cat futrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 04:24 PM   #2

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Lots of tutorials on YouTube.

Here is one:

Old 12-14-2012, 04:28 PM   #3

Florida
Registry
Thanks Tom,

But I'm not using gelcoat. doesn't that make a difference. I haven't found on that doesn't use gelcoat.

cat
Old 12-14-2012, 04:28 PM   #4

Florida
Registry
a video, I mean
Old 12-14-2012, 04:41 PM   #5

Name: Jack
Trailer: '98 BURRO 17WB
Delaware