My scamp tripping the breaker at a campground - Page 2 - Fiberglass RV
Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2016, 10:17 AM   #21
Member
 
Name: Dan
Trailer: Scamp
Iowa
Posts: 93
Registry
Making progress. I got all the old wire pulled out. Instead of the mess of red wire I had in the panel, I'm going to bring my 110v outlet wiring into a single box and run a pigtail from there to the panel.

Last night I cut a hole next to the sink for a double box. I'll have a new outlet in here and use the rest of the space for the splices of the other outlets.







Roto tool with a sheet metal and wood blade cut those holes in about 1 minute. I handheld a hepa vac and wore a respirator.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Curbfeeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 06:46 PM   #22
Member
 
Name: Dan
Trailer: Scamp
Iowa
Posts: 93
Registry
Ahh, now we're talking! Really getting there.



All the splices are on the right side of this new box. Makes the panel look so much cleaner.



3 way fridge is on one breaker, 3 outlets on the other.

More tricks up my sleeve next time,
Dan

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Curbfeeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 06:50 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Glenn Baglo's Avatar
 
Name: Glenn ( second 'n' is silent )
Trailer: 2009 Escape 17B 2020 Toyota Highlander XLE
British Columbia
Posts: 7,504
Hope that's a GFCI outlet and that that faucet doesn't actually work.
__________________
What happens to the hole when the cheese is gone?
- Bertolt Brecht
Glenn Baglo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 07:11 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Name: Steve
Trailer: 2018, 21ft escapeó 2019 Ram 1500 Laramie
NW Wisconsin
Posts: 4,439
You should use NM connectors for Romex / cords , not WT EMT connectors. The metal connectors will cut into the Romex / cable. You also need a KO seal for the left side / top
( make sure you bend the tabs back ).
I would get a tandem breaker and use 1/2 as a main breaker .
steve dunham is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 07:16 PM   #25
Member
 
Name: Dan
Trailer: Scamp
Iowa
Posts: 93
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve dunham View Post
You should use NM connectors for Romex / cords , not WT EMT connectors. The metal connectors will cut into the Romex / cable. You also need a KO seal for the left side / top
( make sure you bend the tabs back ).
I would get a tandem breaker and use 1/2 as a main breaker .
Ahh, good call. I need to grab a couple of the nm and also a couple plugs. I just had these on hand. Good call on the split breaker. Thanks.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Curbfeeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 07:17 PM   #26
Member
 
Name: Dan
Trailer: Scamp
Iowa
Posts: 93
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn Baglo View Post
Hope that's a GFCI outlet and that that faucet doesn't actually work.
faucet does not. We get water in gallon jugs to camp with.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Curbfeeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 06:33 AM   #27
Member
 
Name: Dan
Trailer: Scamp
Iowa
Posts: 93
Registry
Hi guys, just wanted to close this out with a big thanks from all the guys who helped me figure out this mess. I'm back up and running with the grounding block in place. Outlets work and so does the fridge.

As a bonus, wanted to show you a little side project. My scamp has a florescent ballast above the sink (pictured).



My scamp is not wired for any 12v at all, other than two cut wires at the fridge, but I intend to add a solar system. So I opened up thus ballast and added led. Had to do a bit of soldering to combine two kinds of strips I had on hand, but the end result is nice. Very similar in lumens and spectrum to the florescent.


Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Curbfeeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2016, 04:03 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Paul O.'s Avatar
 
Name: Paul
Trailer: '04 Scamp 19D, TV:Tacoma 4.0L 4door, SB
Colorado
Posts: 1,684
Those LED strips look like the ones I bought from China two years ago, they were much cheaper than the direct bulb replacements at that time. Now I have both, several of those strips under the cabinets, not visible when standing, and direct bulb replacements where I was willing to wait for their prices to drop.
Paul O. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
scamp


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Location breaker panel on 2008 Scamp 13' ? Mike L. Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 12 09-20-2013 01:24 PM
breaker works too well Paula Bindrich Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 13 07-06-2007 10:48 AM
Circuit Breaker overload? TorreyT Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 10 05-20-2007 02:33 PM
Magnetek 6325 circuit breaker Yves Pelchat Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 2 09-29-2006 07:52 AM
Where does the circuit breaker go? Legacy Posts Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 7 07-17-2003 08:47 PM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.