Need help finding leak...... - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-05-2018, 03:18 PM   #1

Name: molly
Trailer: scamp
Ohio
Need help finding leak......

Hi
I have a 1987 Scamp that I cant find the source of a leak in. a puddle forms
on top of the wheel well. To the left of the electric box. In the picture, near where the screwdriver is. I have checked the rivots in the area of the leak and the window and the top window.
There is no water being used in the sink area. Only when it rains alot, does the puddle forn. Any suggestions?
PS Im not an expert restoration person, just want to stop the water!
Thanks in advance!
Molly
mollyaborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 03:24 PM   #2

Trailer: 2008 Casita 17 ft Spirit Deluxe
Registry
I think you forgot the picture...

Sight unseen, if you have a window above this area, and you're only getting water in this area when it rains, I'd check to make sure that the weatherstrip under and around the sliding window is still good, seeing how it's getting up in years, they do dry out, wear out, and just deteriorate. And make sure that the drainage "weep hole" outside isn't obstructed with road dirt or other debris. Also check the outside seal around the entire window where it mates to the trailer, which may also need to be pulled, scraped and replaced due to its age. If the rain gets into the slider channel, and can't drain to the outside, it's probably going inside. Just something to check.
Casita Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 03:32 PM   #3

Name: molly
Trailer: scamp
Ohio
leak

Click image for larger version

Name:	leak.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	93.6 KB
ID:	122999
mollyaborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 05:29 PM   #4

Name: Paul
Trailer: '04 Scamp 19D, TV:Tacoma 3.5L 4door, SB
Colorado