New and Looking at Scamp Today. HELP! - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-04-2014, 01:21 PM   #1

Name: Wendy
Trailer: Currently Shopping
Ohio
New and Looking at Scamp Today. HELP!

Hello all! I'm new to the camper world and will be looking at a 1983 16' Scamp with a bathroom. It is priced at $7500 but needs general updating. The owner states that it needs new upholstery, which is clear from the photos. But, I can see there is carpet that will need to be replaced. The owner doesn't know if the "potty" works but when hooked up to a water source, the faucet and shower work. Obviously this thing needs a clean up. Does this price seem high?

Any advice on what to look for or ask is appreciated. I've only seen one camper ever (Canned Ham), so I'm afraid of what I don't know. Thanks in advance!
Attached Thumbnails
Scamp1.jpg   Scamp2.jpg  

Scamp3.jpg  
wendysue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 01:45 PM   #2

Trailer: 92 16 ft Scamp
Registry
Seems high to me - I paid a few thousand less for a 16' with bathroom that was less than 16 years old at the time. Only option it didnt have was AC.

Take a look at Fiberglass-rv-4sale.com under the for sale section and the historical sold section for pricing guidance.
Carol H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 02:06 PM   #3

Name: Francois
Trailer: Bigfoot
British Columbia
Registry
a rule of thumb....

and this is one I learned the hard way....so I repeat it everytime I see a post like this.....

you DO NOT want to buy a trailer from an owner that says something like: "I don't know much about RVs but everything seemed to work for me".....if I was to be in the market again and heard that one I would run away...fast.