Newbie Scamp Question - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-26-2016, 02:35 PM   #1

Name: Connor
Trailer: Scamp
Arkansas
Newbie Scamp Question

I am new to the fiberglass campers. I recently bought a 77 Scamp 13', and I am having trouble figuring out how the battery hookup is supposed to go. I have the 6-pin connector and where the wire goes into the Scamp it says that it could be hooked up to a car or battery. So I am curious how everyone else is hooking up a battery to their Scamp.
I have a 4 pin connection to my car and had a little trouble finding a adapter to go from 6 pin to 4 pin. I did finally find one and none of the trailer lights work on the outside. I am trying to figure out if it is a wire problem or a hook-up problem.
Any help on these issues would be great!
Thanks!
Connor
con57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 04:26 PM   #2

Name: Clif
Trailer: 08 Weiscraft Little Joe 14 Subaru Outback 2.5i CVT
Louisiana
Registry
That 4 wire connector is only going to provide for your lights; tail, turn, brake and emergency flashers. For a complete hookup, you will have to go to a 7 wire connector, which will allow you to hook up your 12v hot for the trailer, brake controller and if you need, back up lights. If you don't have brakes, you will at least have to run a wire from the battery to the correct pin on the 7 wire. This line should have a circuit breaker in it and be sized properly to reduce voltage drop from the battery to the trailer, say 10 gauge or so.

Of course you will have to wire the trailer for 7 wire as well.

As to the vehicle side, there are some 7 wire connectors which you can plug into the 4 wire connector, simplifying installation.

For more information you can try here:

https://www.etrailer.com/faq-wiring.aspx

Have fun.
Old 07-26-2016, 04:42 PM   #3

Louisiana
Registry