Norcold refrigerator noise - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-13-2011, 12:56 PM   #1

Name: Raymond
Trailer: 2011 EggCamper
Ohio
Registry
Norcold refrigerator noise

We have just bought an EggCamper with the 12v Norcold refrigerator -- it's either a DE 0740 or a 0751. This unit seems quite noisy and vibrates quite a bit -- at least that is my perception. As I've no experience with these units (brand new to the camper thing), I've nothing to compare it to. It seems, though, that it has become louder over the past 1 1/2 weeks that we've owned the camper. The camper has been in the backyard the whole time plugged into the garage, so bouncing around would likely not be the problem. Any suggestions are appreciated.

Raymond
RaymondC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 04:09 PM   #2

Trailer: Eggcamper 17 ft Electric
Registry
Hi Raymond,
I too have an EggCamper (2007), and our frig is a DC0040 model. There is some noise with ours, but I think that it's amplified by the front of the fiberglass cabinet. It's not excessively noisy though. After camping in it I don't have trouble sleeping.

With that said, right now, I'm in the process of installing a new propane furnace, and I've got the frig removed from the cabinet. When I put it back together, I'm going to reinforce the front of the cabinet with some strips of maple glued to the inside surface. I use 3M4200 Fast Cure adhesive for just about everything that I attach to the fiberglass, and that's what I'll use to mount the maple strips. I'm hoping that it will dampen the sound a bit. BTW, the 4200 holds really well. I've used it to glue blocks to the interior of the closets and then fastened shelving. It's rock solid.

Ron
Ron F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 07:26 AM   #3

Ohio
Registry