Please explain Electrical? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-22-2012, 10:21 AM   #1

Name: Cindy
Trailer: 1978 13' Scamp
California
Smile Please explain Electrical?

Hello all! Newbie here again. Learning about my scamp. Loving every moment. Feel like a dummy.

Can someone explain the electrical options and how they work? I see that there was a terminal for a battery. The previous owner installed a window AC and a simple refrigerator that he used with a generator. There is a water holding tank-- does it require electricity to pump! ACK!

and....what r these?!

morbank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 12:47 PM   #2

Name: Dennis
Trailer: Scamp 16'
Utah
Registry
All Scamps came with a 12v battery(pretty sure). I'm not sure what the 2nd picture is-looks like a pop-out breaker with a switch and a heat sink on top. The Scamp site has a electrical schematic which should help you. Where are you in CA? If you're close to Big Bear, I'll be there this weekend and could take a look.
Old 05-22-2012, 02:44 PM   #3

Name: Dave
Trailer: ,Bigfoot 25 foot plus Surfside 14 foot
British Columbia
The way some of these eggs are now wired (thanx to the "high-level" of skills involved in the "journeyman electrician" repairs done by previous owners over the years) there is no rational explanation for the electrical!

On edit - I think the device in your first pic is a cigarette lighter socket - also usually referred to as a 12 volt outlet
BCDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 11:09 AM   #4

Name: Eric
Trailer: Scamp 13
Michigan
If you haven't read the scamp website, it is pretty informative if you dig into it a little bit about the various systems in a scamp.