Power Converter - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-08-2007, 08:06 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
When i am plugged into shore power my convertor fan seems to run alot..My question is---Does the fan run because battery charger is working or is fan used to cool convertor reguardless of battery charging side.
Old 08-08-2007, 09:06 PM   #2

Trailer: Scamp
Registry
It's cheape to just turn on the fan when power is applied than all the stuff to make it turn on and off.
Old 08-09-2007, 08:07 AM   #3
Suz

Trailer: 1989 Casita Spirit Deluxe
Registry
Ches, I am no expert but I do have practical experience. My old converter fan ran all the time. It was old, and I assumed, underpowered. This made it run hot so that it ran almost all the time, even when I wasn't using the 12V system. When I upgraded, the new one is larger and much more efficient. It seldom runs. When the weather is hot AND I'm using a lot of 12V lights, it kicks in once in a while, but it runs very little. And, yes, the fan is to keep the converter cool while it's "converting." If you have nothing on that is 12V, then it shouldn't need to run.
Suz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2007, 08:22 AM   #4

Quote:
Ches, I am no expert but I do have practical experience. My old converter fan ran all the time. It was old, and I assumed, underpowered. This made it run hot so that it ran almost all the time, even when I wasn't using the 12V system. When I upgraded, the new one is larger and much more efficient. It seldom runs. When the weather is hot AND I'm using a lot of 12V lights, it kicks in once in a while, but it runs very little. And, yes, the fan is to keep the converter cool while it's "converting." If you have nothing on that is 12V, then it shouldn't need to run.
Thats what i thought.Thanks Suz.
Old 08-09-2007, 03:42 PM   #5

Send a message via Yahoo to Pete Dumbleton