Problems installing a car radio in my Trillium - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-26-2021, 07:27 AM   #1

Name: Tom
Trailer: Trillium
Ontario
Problems installing a car radio in my Trillium

I currently have a JVC car radio in my 1977 Trillium 4500 with an original power center. It is running off of a 110 plug and transformer and works fine. I am wanting to connect it to the trailers 12 volt system and remove the transformer. The radio will not power up from the trailer 12 volt system. The line is live as I have tested it with a tester and connected to a line that feeds a light. The ground goes back to the power convertor. Is there a difference in the 12 volt power coming out of the converter compared to the regular 12 volt power from a battery where the electronics in the radio would have problems with. I don't think so but I have limited knowledge of 12 volt systems and can't figure this one out. Anyone else run into this issue. Thanks in advance
Tbrew100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2021, 08:22 AM   #2

Name: Dave W
Trailer: Trillium 4500 - 1976, 1978, 1979, 1300 - 1977, and a 1973
Alberta
Registry
Do you have a battery installed? If so will it power up when running on the battery?

The original converter is a primitive device. I have not looked at the output of it on an oscilloscope, but I would not be surprised if it has a lot of ripple, especially under heavy load.
David Tilston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2021, 09:45 AM   #3
Commercial Member

Name: Charlie Y
Trailer: Escape 21 - Felicity
Oregon
Are both grounds connected? Trailer ground and battery ground?

Don't drill holes, try custom storage you design: https://RVWidgetWorks.com
tractors1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2021, 09:53 AM   #4

Trailer: 2020 Escape 19 (was 2005 16 ft Scamp Side Dinette and 2005 Fleetwood (Coleman) Taos pop-up)
Registry