Q. from an Owner-wannabe - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-18-2007, 11:07 AM   #1

Trailer: Trails West Campster 1970
Registry
I'm considering looking for one of these trailers. But I have a few questions.

1) Which, if any, will fit inside a standard garage? (Assuming the garage gets cleaned out?)

2) My tow vehicle would be a Subaru Forester, which can tow up to 2000 lbs with trailer brakes. Will that be sufficient? How much will it affect my mileage to tow a trailer like these?

I'll probably think of more questions, but those are the big ones for now.

Thanks,
Bobbie
Bobbie Mayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 11:31 AM   #2

Trailer: 19 ft Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel Dlx / 2001 Ford Ranger 4x4
My answers but I am no expert here..... none of my Scamps ever fit in my garage.. the beams aren't high enough...

1. I wouldn't pull anything bigger than a 13 ft Scamp, Burro or Boler trailer with your Forester... if your towing weight is only 2,000lbs.... I had a Tacoma PU 3.7L 4 C that would tow 3,500 so I pulled my 16 ft Scamp with it a few times with no problems.. but also remember you will need a tranny cooler if you don't have one installed already....if your vehicle is an automatic..

2. Not sure on the mileage..... maybe 15 per gal??

Lots of info here for someone else to chime in.....
Christi V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 11:33 AM   #3

Trailer: Boler 13 ft
Quote:
1) Which, if any, will fit inside a standard garage? (Assuming the garage gets cleaned out?
Bobbie, this is asked alot and a standard door is usually 7 feet and other then a Teardrop style camper I do not know of any that would fit but alot of people have come up with good ideas like letting air out of tires to get the 13 ft Boler just squeeking in.
I have a 13 ft Boler but my air conditioner is on top so it sits outside all year with no problems.

Quote: